The Final Countdown

Here I am, the night before my flight to Geneva. I’ve been meaning to update this blog with entries for weeks but I kept finding myself busy doing nothing. That’s not entirely true. I spent a lot of time chasing down paperwork, getting official stamps and endorsements, taking Cleo to the vet twice, and going to the French Consulate in downtown Toronto, also twice. The second trip I had to pick up my passport with work visa in it and the window of time they gave me was 9:00-9:30 am. Come to think of it, I kept my days quite busy. There’s a lot to catch you up on and to be honest, it’s not all that interesting so I’ll touch upon highlights and add photos later.

-Thanksgiving, Christmas and a New Year happened. I love this time of year and we celebrated American Thanksgiving since I was missing it in Portland. I love this time of year. It’s festive, lots of food, holiday parties, Christmas decorations…. Well this year there was none of that (except the food) and given my move, I never felt so “un-Christmas-y” in my life. Not in a bah humbug way, I think it’s because I felt displaced. I’m in a transition zone between my old life and my new life.
-I joined a gym and went almost every day. This felt great. It was a good reason to get out of the house and get some much needed exercise. Fuel points!!
-I’m not used to these sub-zero temperatures. It was cold and snowy, then there was an ice storm and we lost power for 31 hours. Some poor folks lost power for 3-4+ days, spending Christmas in warming shelters.
-Canadian vs USA culture. More to come on this!!

Leave a Reply

