Have Fun Now!

Image

*note: photo taken by Andrew Hall for PortlandBridges.com

Is it possible to miss a place you haven’t left yet?  It must be, because that’s how I’m feeling these days.  Ever since I knew I was leaving my job and Portland, I started feeling nostalgic and more appreciative of things this town and the Pacific Northwest has to offer.  I’ll leave Nike for another post so I can gather up some photos.

While I was on sabbatical in May/June, I visited a lot of local attractions I hadn’t seen or fully explored.  I went to the Chinese Gardens, hiked up Multnomah Falls, and drove up to Seattle.  There’s still so much more to do–Mt. St. Helens, the coast, Trillium Lake etc.  Portland is a small city and it’s so easy to live here.  Parking is cheap, gorgeous summers, and Pacific ocean and mountains closeby.  Yes, there’s the rain and plenty of it.  I can’t say I’ll miss the gray dreariness of winter when it can rain every. single. day.

Then there’s the FOOD!!  Portland’s food scene is incredible.  I wholly support the farm-to-table, locally sourced thing going on here.  Any diet you can be on–gluten free, vegan, vegan with meat, all juice (more on this later), etc you can find without the bat of eye.

Image

I wanted to included the guy at the counter’s tattooed arm

Last week after I got my hair cut at Gold & Arrow, I was going to grab lunch from one of the food carts on SW Alder.  Specifically, Nong’s Khao Man Gai but I was stopped by Tasty and Alder first.  It was on my short list of places to try so I walked in and grabbed a stool at the counter.  An older woman and her husband came by but only she stayed to eat.  I ordered the Korean Fried Chicken (so-so) and she got the Radicchio Salad korean fried chickenwith Bacon Lardons (very good).  I know this because she offered me some.  We did a little food trade and got to talking.  Her name is Janet and she looked to be about 60+ years old.  We talked about our favorite restaurants in Portland and I told her about my move to France.  She told me about her husband who was waiting for her to finish eating and she was eating very fast.  He had a portion of his throat removed and is unable to swallow food.  The things you learn from strangers!  As she paid up and rushed out the door, she exclaimed loudly, “Have fun now!”.

Leave a Reply

