Deep Breath

This post was written in my notebook on Friday, August 16, 2013.  My last day at Nike was officially Thursday, August 15, 2013.

I’m alive.  One day after my last day of employment at Nike.  I’m sitting in Baker & Spice for the first time.  I got here very early, before 7 am, and there’s quite a few people coming and going.  Makes me think, everyone has a story.  Where they’re from, where they’re going, what’s the big thing in their lives right now.  Deep breath.

This whole process has been in stages.  With each decision, a burden is lifted but the next task takes it’s place.  It’s been overwhelming and I’m at the point where even the most mundane decisions seem monumental.  Should I bring my queen sized bed?  Should I buy a new mattress here and have it moved?  Will it fit in my new, TBD apartment?  Should I bring my Dyson?  I reached out to more than a handful of you with these questions.  I better stock up on dental floss, cold medicine, and peanut butter!  Costco, here I come!  I’m sure France has these things and if not, I will adjust.  (Or beg family and friends to mail me some!).  Deep breath.

I won’t bore you with all the details but I now consider myself a semi-expert on how to obtain a French long form birth certificate, H-1B visas, and animal carriers for airline travel.  Which brings me to my next point.  My cat, Cleo, will be moving with me.  I adopted her from Animal Aid shelter over 4 years ago and I can’t imagine life without her.  She’s my little buddy and will be a source of great comfort in my first weeks and months as I learn my way around a new town, new culture, new language, new job.  Deep breath.

I’m deeply moved and humbled by all the support I’ve been getting from family and friends.  Even people I haven’t seen in years or are acquaintances are emerging and wishing me well.  It’s wonderful and makes me feel good.  A few of you I have been using as a sounding board and pestering with questions for months–you know who you are and HUGE thanks to you.  I’ve received some very generous offers from near and far to help me pack and assist in any way I need.  HUGE thanks to you too.  I can honestly say I feel blessed to have made friends with such amazing, inspirational people in Portland.  There’s a saying I heard a long time ago that I like:  All friends were once strangers.  Deep breath.

Leave a Reply

