I’m Moving to France

There, it’s in print.  Aside from my friends and family, I haven’t been going around telling people my news.  Maybe because I can hardly believe it myself.  Maybe because it still seems unreal.  Despite everyone’s reaction of being thrilled for me, I feel anxious and scared.  This process is still unfolding and I wanted to document my thoughts and experiences to share with you.

I’m moving to Annecy, a town in the Haute-Savoie department in the Rhône-Alpes region in South Eastern France.  I looked that up on Wikipedia.  It’s on the beautiful, clear Lake Annecy and is 22 miles from Geneva, Switzerland.  They are +9 hours ahead of PDX and right now seems worlds away.

This decision to move was extremely difficult, the toughest decision of my life.  Leaving my great job at Nike, my amazing friends, lovely house, and beautiful Oregon to leap into the unknown.  Through some circumstances friends were faced with, I questioned if I was living the life I wanted.  If I had one year–or less–to live, was I satisfied with my life experiences up ’til now?  When Steve Jobs passed away, I was inspired and motivated by  his commencement speech at Stanford in 2005.

“…have the courage to follow your heart and intuition.  They somehow already know what you truly want to become”

Yes, I am scared but your support keeps me encouraged.  I know that “I am moving to France” will soon become, “I am moving to France!!!”.

Image

Leave a Reply

